Tags

, , ,

So, my latest watch acquisition arrived in the mail today (don’t tell my wife). Well, I did win this watch in a giveaway so it’s not as bad. Anyway,  it’s Lew & Huey Spectre in Fireball Orange. I was looking around for Pilot/Military watch and I was also interested in checking out this brand. It’s a US microbrand that has a good reputation on the watch blogs and also has some very unique and stylish watch designs. So, this ended up being a good fit (or a fortuitous win).When I first opened the box I’m impressed by the note enclosed, thanking me for buying the watch. It’s a nice personal touch that a smaller company can provide. It also came in a very nice rectangular box. A little different from my collection of square boxes.

It’s a automatic watch that’s using a Seiko movement. The crystal is sapphire and it comes on a brown leather strap.

I slip the watch on and the band is very comfortable. It’s not as stiff as the leather band on my Tissot. Based on it’s 44 mm Case diameter I was afraid it would wear huge on my wrist. But it doesn’t. It sits very comfortably. Hopefully it doesn’t look obnoxious like a larger Invicta. I don’t think it does.

I love the two ring hour marker design. In the smaller center ring are the hours 1-12 and on the larger outer ring are the minutes 00-55. It’s a nifty little tweak to what you would usually see on a watch face. It’s going to make it much easier to tell time after a few whiskey shots.

So far, I love the watch. Would I pay the retail price of $400 for it? I need a little more time with it to decide. A more in-depth review will be next.

spectrebox

spectreback

spectrefront

