Tags

, , , ,

Japanese Whisky is hard to find in my area, so when I saw a bottle of Hibiki Japanese Harmony in one of my local ABCs I picked it up right away. Here are my thoughts.

hibikiNose – Faint, a little pale, somewhat woodsy. But my nose is a little stuffy.

Palate – Much stronger than expected. Has quite a kick. Oaky and a bit of spice. After a few sips and a few sips of chaser it goes down smoother.

Finish – Despite the strong initial taste, there’s hardly any aftertaste at first. After a few sips you get that familiar peppery aftertaste.

I don’t know what to think just yet. I have very limited experience with Japanese Whisky, but it took me quite some time to appreciate my Yamakazi.

At this point I would say it’s a decent whisky, but am thinking of sacrilegiously trying it as a base for a mixed drink.

