Tags

, , , , , , ,

Now that I’ve determined both my blades and my aftershave, it’s time to focus on the shaving cream. Or stick, or soap, or whatever you want to call it. Here’s my current shave setup.

Razor – Merkur DE Razor with Feather Blades and Gilette Fusion ProGlide

Shaving Soap/Cream – Williams Mug Shaving Soap

Aftershave – Gillette Cool Wave and T.W. Dickinsons Witch Hazel

I’m going to be testing these products against the Williams Shaving Soap :

Kiss My Face Moisture Shave
ProRaso Shaving Soap Sensitive
Arko Shaving Soap Stick
Art of Shaving Unscented Shaving Soap
Taylor of Old Bond Street Sandalwood Hard Shaving Soap
Col Conk Almond Shave Soap
shavesoaps

The Williams Soap usually gets a decent lather and close shave, but I wanted to see if there’s something even better. Occasionally the lather dries up too quickly. That might have more to do with the brush or my application however.

I have very sensitive skin and find that fragrances often cause me to break out. So, I researched what is thought of as the “best” shave soap on the shaving forums. I looked for ones that had unscented flavors or were recommended as good for sensitive skin. I also compared those recommendations to Amazon reviews. I also looked at availability of the different soaps on Amazon to make sure I would easily be able to continue using the winner of this testing. That’s how I narrowed it down to these five against the Williams.

I’m going to try to follow my somewhat elaborate shaving schedule which I laid out in this post if you’re interested.

Look for the first test coming next!

